Metanarrative

“Metanarrative: a grand narrative common to all. The term refers, in critical theory and particularly in postmodernism, to a comprehensive explanation, a narrative about narratives of historical meaning, experience or knowledge, which offers a society legitimation through the anticipated completion of a (as yet unrealised) master idea.” Or in simple term, a narrative about a narrative.

Do you ever feel like half way through an argument you have to stop and remind yourself why you are on the side that you’re on?  Sometimes you even need to ask someone what it is that you’re even arguing about. Lately I’ve been so caught up in analyzing things in an attempt to get on a deeper level of understanding and end up convincing myself that the opposite of what I’m actually saying is true. Sometimes I get a really compelling idea for a blog post that I’m really passionate about and I start frantically typing, giving my best attempt at transforming my tumultuous thoughts into actual words and half way through the post I start to believe the exact opposite of what I’m actually writing about. It’s almost like I get confused about where I’m going with it and start to spiral backwards.  Like I have no where else to go with the argument and start to examine the alternative point of view. Is that bad? Does that mean I’m overthinking it? I just never feel satisfied with anything that I write… I honestly have no idea how writers do it. We should seriously give them more credit. That was my problem in high school- getting through an entire essay without questioning my entire thesis. Then again my last essay was written about a year and a half ago- in my fetal stages of writing.

Back to my point… sticking with a point of view. It’s amazing how you don’t even need someone to introduce opposing arguments, sometimes you do that within your own head without even knowing it. But does that make you weaker? Or does that strengthen your writing make you a more well-rounded author?  It’s beyond me. Honestly I’ve accepted that I can’t really control it. All I can do is write about it and hope that someone else shares a similar opinion.

 

– Dose of Delight

Leave a Reply

