Fear of Oblivion

I’ve noticed a trend in my thoughts lately. I’ve been in constant fear that I am going to enter this state of oblivion that will prevent me from seeing the world, life, our universe, for what they are.. and just be eternally caught up in my own limbo. I’m thinking it’s easy to fall into that “ignorance is bliss” mindset, but the truth is that you won’t get there unless you actually put in the effort to ignore everything outside of your own life.

The truth is, I’ve already entered a deep enough thought complexity in this subject matter (my perspectives on the world), to ever ‘forget’ or ‘lose sight’ of it.

I need to let go of holding back from fully indulging in deeply ‘meaningless’, personal things. I won’t get swept away into a cloud of oblivion. That’s just not going to happen. I need to continue to acknowledge who I am and where I fit in the grand scheme of things (myself, my family, society, a human living on earth, a living organism in this ever expanding universe).

However, I need to also acknowledge that it’s okay to fully let myself go and focus my full attention on little things.

Or else I’ll go crazy. (Also I think humans have kind of been manufactured to live in the social, complex lives that we do, simply through evolution). Evolution don’t lie. Trust Sir Darwin.

Before people living on earth even knew what was outside of it (or even how our planet is composed- it’s spherical shape, it’s size relative to other planets), they still lived happily and fully. And they weren’t considered “ignorant” or “oblivious” at the time. They simply lived off of what information was available to them. It’s impossible for me to have full, profound understanding of my planet and universe, so I will simply strive to live with a strong sense of self and a curious, yet indulgent state of mind.

Do you feel like you sometimes lose sense of things? And how do you handle that? Please comment your thoughts, I’d love to hear!

– Dose of Delight

Leave a Reply

