Switching Plans/The Purpose of University.

In the typical sense, university is used as a means of getting to where you want to go and learning what you need in order to achieve a career you have in mind. 

However, it can also be used as a great way to get to know what really makes you happy in this world. It can be a place where you get to know what motivates you, what makes you so inspired that you run home from class smiling, feeling like you’ve finally found your purpose in life (yes this has happened to me). 

Obviously it’s a bit easier to know what you want to do before you come to university, but I believe it’s just as fun if you ignore all the stress and pressure and simply come here to learn what you are curious about in the world. Take the classes that interest you, not the ones that people say are “easy” or “useful for your program”. Trust me, the easiest and most useful classes you will ever take are the ones that you are genuinely interested in. I switched my “program” 3 times during my undergrad, and I’m still only in my third year. I keep finding things that drive me, and there is nothing wrong with that. I have now become someone much more openminded, focused, and positive through this experience, and I honestly am so glad my undergrad went the way it did. I would never be where I am right now, never met the people I’ve met, if I just stayed in the program that I chose blindly out of high school. 

I am so happy that I’ve developed this sense of self and really discovered what drives me.

Honestly, life will keep presenting itself with new opportunities and new adventures- so why not take them? You are never stuck. Whether you are in your final year, in your 30s or even in your 70s, that doesn’t mean you can’t try something new. You aren’t ditching your plans, you are following new ones. You’ll thank yourself later.

– Dose of Delight

Leave a Reply

