Ah, the Sound of Music.

 

I think I would die without music. It’s what keeps me sane along with these hours of sitting in a cubicle, staring at excel sheets and cleaning my teacup rings with 50 cent napkins.

I’m working on a piece right now about a girl named Farah, who is deaf. For authenticity purposes, and to satisfy my own curiosity, I’m trying to gain a better sense of what life is like for someone who has only recently lost their hearing. I really have no idea how it feels to interact with others as a deaf person living in a world with sound. And further, what it’s like for people to interact with someone who has recently lost their hearing. Needless to say, it’s an interesting little project.

But, as I’m sat here listening to my music, it almost saddens me that not everyone can experience this kind of sensation. Music brings me such joy, focus, escape, fun, memories and a whole wad of other wonderful things.

So, I write this post to express my gratitude for ability to hear. It’s quite grounding to remind ourselves of these things.

And if you are reading this as someone who has lost their hearing, I truly solute you. Please feel free to contact me if you are interested in helping me with this project (I’m also looking into incorporating a biographical component).

– Dose of Delight

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

